If you twitter – does that mean that you are a twit?

One of the greatest things about going to QCon is that you can meet all the fantastic speakers in a very informal setting. Last night I was having conversations with people like Joe Armstrong, Steve Vinoski, Jonathan Trevor and Kresten Krab Thorup in the hotel bar and that was fantastic – I learned a lot.

The twitter remark that I used for the title is actually a question that Steve Vinoski asked me and because twitter is not that popular in Denmark, I just can’t tell. I do not use twitter – I use the status message in Facebook for that kind of information and that is what most of my friends do.

I asked around at the conference and there was some real twitter fans there but there was also the people who just thought that twitter was blogging taken too far. So if you are a twitter fan or a twitter hater, I would like to hear your opinion.

3 Responses

  1. I really like twitter and think it’s two things rolled into one platform; (1) it lets you micro-blog and (2) it lets you have disconnected, public conversations with other people in the community. I’ve seen and posted lots of stuff on twitter that I wouldn’t necessarily have time to post on my blog. Try it out. :-)

  2. I also like twitter and I agree with the reasons given by Simon. Microblogging and passive communication are also my primary reasons for using it.

    However, I would add another reason. I saw lots of people using twitter at QCon, and I’m sure that, like me, they were twittering the event. I wanted to keep a pulse of what they were saying, but surprisingly there wasn’t any public stream to follow these tweets. So I started an
    eventtrack
    about Qcon London 2008 trying to group tweets and to facilitate following the conversation. Unfortunately, it was an unofficial stream, so I didn’t get many followers. I also asked Floyd about establishing an official stream or back channel, but he wasn’t very convinced. Hope next year there will be some kind of glue to follow the conversation, as in other conferences.

  3. Nice to know, Ferdy. I had not seen this channel before – did you put it on the wiki?

    I will take that idea to the danish part of the organizing team of QCon so hopefully there will be an official twitter stream next year :-).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

